Yankee Candle? Here I Come!

I will begin by saying I am a Yankee Candle aficionado.   So it is understandable that I felt a flutter of alarm as I read the recent headline,  Yankee Candle to be Sold.   Uh-oh.   Would this have any effect on my regular jaunts to the self-proclaimed ”Scenter of the World”?

If I have a few hours of free time, one of my favorite things to do is take the half-hour drive north to the  Yankee Candle flagship store.  I bypass the front parking lot and head straight to the rear entrance where there are usually plenty of empty spaces.  Once inside the doors my first stop is at Mrs. Claus’ Bakery and Cafe where I get a Coke Zero from the soda fountain.  With free refills on soda, why waste time?

Clutching my soda I am now ready to start browsing.  I head first to the Sale Scenter  where I have found the occasional great deal, but honestly, you have to like some pretty weird scents to find a deal in there.  Nearby there is an area devoted to outdoor items where this past Christmas I found several cool gifts; I sincerely hope that a collapsible bucket and some beautiful wind chimes  are esteemed by their new owners.  Scented soaps found their way into the bottom of Christmas stockings, and Ewok was the delighted recipient of a box of organic dog biscuits.  Over the years I have purchased many Christmas ornaments and decorations.  I always wander through the kitchen area but don’t usually find anything I want (or more truthfully, that I can afford).  But on a recent trip  I found a cross-shaped cookie cutter to use at Easter this year.  Why limit cutout cookies to Christmas?

Now that I have a grandchild to spoil, I think I will spend more time looking at the toys which were presumably made by Santa’s elves.  And I know that Sofia will eventually be as enchanted by the Bavarian Village as my own children were when they first wandered through.  “It’s snowing, Mom!”

With all my warm-up wanderings out-of-the-way, I finally allow myself to get to the real highlight of the trip:  candle shopping!  So many lovely scents from which to choose!  Decisions, decisions.  My favorite for the fall is Autumn Leaves.  I burned through two of the large jars last fall.  What can I say?  I just really enjoy the crisp aroma.

Right now, even though it is snowing as I look out my window, I have high hopes that spring IS coming and I am enjoying the sweet smell of Lilac.  I just love the scent and the reminder of the freshness of springtime.  In between autumn and spring lies Christmas, and if you come to my house during that season you will most likely catch a whiff of Holiday Garland or Holiday Home Sweet Home.

I always go with coupons in hand and come away with a bargain.  As I have mentioned, I keep them burning here at home, but I also give them away.  I consider them a luxury and luxuries are a nice gift to receive.

Will the sale of Yankee Candle have any effect on my shopping trips?  Probably not.  It has been sold several times over the years and I have only seen the store continue to expand.  But thinking about pleasant scents got me to thinking about another question:  How do I smell?

Emmanuel recently blessed me with a bottle of Euphoria perfume, and oh, does that stuff smell nice! So I think I’m okay in the perfume department.  The real question I am asking is a bit harder to answer:  Does my life exude the sweet fragrance of Christ?

Just something for me to think about.

4 thoughts on “Yankee Candle? Here I Come!

  1. I’m reminded of one of my favorite verses of Scripture 2 Corinthians 2:14-15
    14 But thanks be to God, who always leads us as captives in Christ’s triumphal procession and uses us to spread the aroma of the knowledge of him everywhere. 15 For we are to God the pleasing aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing.

Leave a Reply

