My Plants Survived Christmas…… Barely

I looked ruefully at my plants. Shuttled off to a side room for the month of December they had gotten little sunlight and even less water. My neglect of them was evident. After pinching off the dead leaves, I stuck my finger in the soil and found it desert dry. We were off to the kitchen sink for a thorough soaking. The plants drank in the cool water with big gulps. Temporarily displaced by Christmas decorations, they were now ready to be restored to their rightful places in the living room. Sitting in bright sunshine, they contentedly soaked up the rays. They would soon be flourishing again.

When the frenzy of Christmas was over I found myself in much the same condition as my plants. Typically, on any given afternoon I can be found in my living room stretched out on my chaise lounge. The sun will be shining brightly through the bow-window as my Bible lies open on my lap. It is the time my soul is watered and refreshed. But during the month of December I found myself occupied with other activities. Shopping, wrapping ,cooking, and cleaning left me little time to linger with the Friend who leads me beside the still waters.

And so, as I finished putting my home back in order after the holidays, I was acutely aware that my soul was dry and thirsty. I desperately needed a drink.

I will never be able to adequately express my gratitude that Jesus said, “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink.”        He invited ME.

What wondrous love is this, O my soul, O my soul!

Chaise lounge…. here I come.

6 thoughts on “My Plants Survived Christmas…… Barely

    • I don’t think it is a hymn. I wrote it in my first Bible many years ago. I never knew where it came from, but just recently I learned that it was a stanza of a poem by Emily Dickinson. The sentiment has always struck a chord with my sinful heart.

Leave a Reply

