GPS or Road Map?

I recently attended a family wedding in central Pennsylvania.   Four cars from our immediate family were on the road at the same time, all coming from slightly different directions.  Upon arrival we learned that all four vehicles had converged at the correct destination with the use of a GPS.  Not so unusual, but the thing that surprised me was that not a single person among us had with them a good, old-fashioned road map.

I suppose I have given away my positive opinion of road maps  with the adjective ‘good’.  I have nothing against a GPS, especially for the detailed instructions that are needed at the end of a trip.  But I really like looking at a map so I can get the big picture.  I want to see all the routes that lead to the destination.  Besides, I have heard the horror stories of people who relied solely on their GPS and ended up stranded out in the middle of nowhere.

When it comes to a car trip I am in favor of using both a GPS and a road map.  The map is for the big picture, the overview; the GPS is for the detailed, step-by-step instructions.

I am glad that the guide I use for life has both of these functions in one volume.  The Bible says Thy Word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.   A hand-held lamp casts its light down, giving just enough light to see where to take the next step.  However, a light can also be held aloft to illuminate the length of the path showing the destination.  In the same way, God’s Word provides guidance for day-to-day decisions, as well as giving the big plan for life.

For a road trip I’ll take my GPS and a road map.  For my life’s journey, I’ll continue to use my favorite guidebook, the Bible.

5 thoughts on “GPS or Road Map?

  1. OH SO well put. I LOVE maps for the very same reason! I love how your life stories bring such an illumination to the Word and it’s application to life. Thanks SO much for your wisdom…thanks, HOLY SPIRIT!

  2. I am out and about right now with gps and ipad? Haha, i guess that counts. I always thiught that verse was just being redundant int the way that poetry can be. Nice to hear your take on it.

  3. Isn’t writing fun?! You’re illustrations are poignant.
    I wrote one yesterday about a Bear…..
    The Holy Spirit is so cool. God’s creative work in me, in you, and in others that I bend my ear to are
    a neat reflection of the image of our Creator – each one illuminating Him in a uniquely given way.
    Thanks for sharing Jill!

Leave a Reply

