Stepping Heavenward

Elizabeth Prentiss, 1869

How dreadfully old I am getting!  Sixteen!  Well, I don’t see as I can help it.  There it is in the big Bible in Father’s own hand:

  “Katherine, born Jan.15, 1815.

And with this first entry into her journal we are ushered into Katherine’s world.  Her life story unfolds before us in the words recorded in her journal. Starting on her 16th birthday, she continues to keep a journal through the waning days of her life.

I fell in love with the heroine of this book, Katy.  Her forthrightness in describing her own weaknesses and internal struggles is a refreshing contrast  to people who always want to present themselves in the best possible light.   I love reading the diary of someone who is so like me!

As we read her words we are privy to her relationships with her friends and family, her romantic entanglements, her shining successes, and her deepest failures.   We see how she gradually learns to serve others and become a better friend, wife, and mother. However, Katy is so honest that along the way she is faithful to record her struggles and shortcomings as well.   We can readily identify with both her joys and sorrows.  And all through the book we are witness to her budding relationship with God and how it blossoms over the years.  Rather than focusing on a particular time of life,  this book shows the growth of Christian character over the lifetime of one woman.

The author of this book was both a pastor’s daughter and a pastor’s wife.  Without revealing any more of the story, I will say that it is semi-autobiographical.  I highly recommend Stepping Heavenward.  It is an easy, enjoyable read.  More importantly,  it is a source of encouragement to Christian women who want to continue to step heavenward.


4 thoughts on “Stepping Heavenward

  1. Funny that your first review would be this book; E.G. just purchased the book as part of a graduation gift for his niece. As far as I know, she is not a believer, do you think it’s a good choice to give to her?

    • I think it is an excellent choice, especially if the Lord is at work. I think young people can relate to this book because her journal begins when she is 16. She is a normal girl, not some sanctified on paper kind of person. I found it so refreshing to read about real life attitudes and emotions that we all have but don’t often talk about. Barb, I think YOU would like this book. There is also a separate Bible study book that was written a few years ago that I love. My Sunday school class did it a few years ago and for many people in our class, it was one of the best studies we have done over the years. If you ever read it, please let me know what you and/or your niece thinks.

  2. I couldn’t agree more…amazing book. SO encouraging and inspiring. Thanks for articulating why it is such a gem!

Leave a Reply

