Can I have some of that dry chocolate cake?

Many times when I ask my husband what he would like for dessert he responds with
“How about chocolate cake?  the moist kind?”   This never fails to provoke a response from me, as though when I go through my recipe box I deliberate between the recipe cards that say ‘moist chocolate cake’ and  ‘dry chocolate cake’.  I have yet to hear him say,  “Can I have a hunk of that dry chocolate cake, the one that needs ice cream to get it down?”

If everything goes right in my kitchen on a given day, I can turn out a moist chocolate cake.  I have been making this particular recipe for over thirty years, and have made it literally hundreds of times.  I like it because it is a one bowl cake and takes just a few minutes to mix together.  I don’t remember the original source, but I believe it was from a magazine that was featuring all different sorts of chocolate desserts.  I usually frost it with a  Mocha Butter Cream frosting.  Although it is a nice moist cake, I have no objection to someone asking for a scoop of ice cream to go along with it.  🙂

Chocolate Fudge Cake

1 & 2/3 cups of all purpose flour
1½ cups sugar
2/3 cups cocoa
1½ tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1½ cups of buttermilk*
½ cup shortening
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract

1) Preheat oven to 350º.  Grease and flour two 8″ or 9″ pans.

2) In a large mixing bowl combine all the dry ingredients.  Mix in buttermilk, eggs,
shortening, and vanilla.  Beat for two minutes at medium speed.

3) Pour into prepared pans.  Bake for 28-32 minutes or until the toothpick test tells you it
is done.  The baking time will vary depending on which size pan you use.  Don’t let it
over bake or it will turn into the aforementioned dry chocolate cake.

4)  Cool for 10 minutes in the pans and then turn out onto a wire rack to finish cooling.  Cool
completely before you frost.  If you don’t, the layers will slide around and you will have a funny looking cake.  Trust me, I learned this from personal experience many years ago.

*I never have buttermilk in the house so I make sour milk by adding vinegar or lemon juice to milk.  For this recipe, pour 1½ tsp of lemon juice/vinegar into 2 cup measuring cup.  Add enough milk to make 1½ cups.

Mocha Butter Cream Frosting

1/3 cup butter, softened
1 lb box powdered sugar
1/2 cup cocoa
1/3 cup hot coffee

Cream butter until light.  Mix in cocoa at low speed.  Add sugar alternating with coffee.  Mix until smooth and of spreading consistency.

6 thoughts on “Can I have some of that dry chocolate cake?

  1. This looks like a delicious cake. I just love your Blog!!!! Hope we will be able to find a day to get together when you are home.

    Linda

  2. I’m definitely trying this recipe. I love anything with buttermilk in it. Here’s a recipe to help you keep buttermilk in the house—a favorite at our house, and Oh So Easy (my favorite kind of recipes)

    1 can crushed pineapple
    1 1/2 cup buttermilk

    Mix the 2 things above. Sometimes I add in cranberry sauce if I have some to use up. then mix in an 8 oz tub of frozen whipped topping and throw it in the freezer. It’s a wonderfully refreshing frozen salad. Enjoy

  3. Mom you’re giving away all the secret recipes!!
    Just kidding – nice blog. And I can imagine Papa saying that exactly.

    (But really, leave the cookies off of this website!!)

    🙂

  4. “How about chocolate cake? the moist kind?” — I can just hear Emanuel saying that in his very gentle voice! Men!

    I’ll have to try this recipe. It sound yummy.

Leave a Reply

